Skip to Content


Request a Quote Online Training

ANSI/ISO Certifications

Request a quote

The development of these standards began in 1962 and they were published in 1968. The standards were written so that both the regulatory agencies and the users would have specifications which would characterize radioactive sources and establish performance standards.

The tables on the following page are from ANSI.N542 and ISO.2919, Classifications of sealed radioactive sources. The concept of both ANSI.N542 and ISO.2919 is that design standards are not mandated but a series of tests are specified for which prototypes of new designs are subjected. In this manner innovation is encouraged without sacrificing safety standards. Minimum performance must be met to demonstrate suitability for certain applications.

The tests are performed on two sources. Different specimens of the same source design are allowed for each test in the above table. To pass a test the sealed source must retain its activity after each test and pass the prescribed leak tests. Source performance is generally described as C12345, a letter and five digits. The letter will be either C or E. C indicates the activity does not exceed limits established by nuclide dependent upon its toxicity and the solubility of its physical form. E indicates the activity exceeds those limits. The five digits indicate, respectively, the highest test passed for temperature, pressure, impact, vibration, and puncture.

1) For the purposes of this standard, gamma irradiators have been divided into four distinct categories.
2) Source-device combination may be tested.
3) Category I = Self-Contained-Dry Source Storage, Category II = Panoramic-Dry Source Storage,
Category III = Self-Contained-Wet Source Storage, and Category IV = Panoramic-Wet Source Storage.

Request a quote